top of page

Review: Pandora by Storm Chase


What an unconventional love story. What an unconventional pair of heroes.

I thought the author did a great job of portraying a hero with an unusual character flaw. She always gave us clues as to how Xavier was processing the information he was receiving, and how he compensated for his flaw using logic.

I'll confess I didn't really see what Xavier saw in Pandora for most of the book. Don't get me wrong, Pandora was very real and fairly easy to sympathize with, but in a kind of sad puppy-dog way. But by the end of the book, I was rooting for her, and amazed by her ability to adapt to the situation she found herself in. Her journey from hapless victim to empowered negotiator and valued asset was fun to read.

The twists and turns of this story made for a roller-coaster ride that more than made up for the slow start that came from a little too much exposition. It's obvious the author did her research, but the therapy and spy-babble wasn't overdone - I didn't have to Google or Wiki anything to make the read satisfying, which is a perfect balance for my reading pleasure.

I will be reading more books by Storm Chase.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
bottom of page