top of page

Review: The Life of Anna - Enslaved, by Marissa Honeycutt


I read this book a while ago, but wasn't sure what I wanted to say about it.

It is dark. Very dark.

We meet Anna, and she goes through some horrible things. She's a victim, she's weak...but there is something about her that makes me want to keep turning the pages. I knew going in that this book was epic, and Enslaved is only part one, and I could hardly imagine what more poor Anna could go through.

The author, somehow, creates in Anna a character whose only desire is to love and be loved, and despite everything in her crappy existence, she just has these simple goals. And I want her to win. I want her to stand on top of that mountain and throw up her fists in victory.

That does NOT happen by the end of Part 1. Anna is in much worse shape by the end of this book than she was when it started. There is a glimmer of hope, maybe, but how can hope be so painful?

Heed the warnings at the front of this book. I consider myself to be a fairly heart-hardened, thick-skinned reader. Not much gets to me. But Anna's story kept me awake at night. Don't figure on abandoning this story, or this series, once you start. If you can stomach it, you will be hooked. You will want to know how it turns out in the end.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
bottom of page